A prayer for faithfulness

A wave of gratitude swept over me on Sunday afternoon. There we stood before a congregation of believers and not just any congregation… it was OUR congregation, OUR family of fellow Jesus lovers seeking to make disciples. As we shared about the journey God is leading us on, all eyes were on us and all ears were listening intently. We have such great gratitude for this group of people who have loved us and cared for us so well and continue to do so as we look toward the next chapter of our lives.

The wave of gratitude swelled when the prayers began. Prayers for our children. Prayers for effectiveness in ministry. Prayers for the Spirit to lead. Prayers for language acquisition. And so many others from the people we love. There I stood on the verge of tears. And then the tears just streamed as our earthly shepherd, our pastor began praying. The tears came not because of who was praying, but who he was praying to and what he was praying about. The previous few days I had been in a slump… tired, selfish, and even apathetic could describe where I was. And then this prayer for faithfulness struck me with grief over my sins, freedom remembering my salvation, and joy looking ahead to serve the one who is faithful. Even when I am unfaithful, God is always faithful!

Beyond success, beyond comfort, beyond understanding and a whole host of other things, ultimately it is faithfulness to the Lord that I desire. When the day is done, when the years pass away, I will stand before the God of Heaven and eagerly desire for Him to say “Well done, good and faithful servant.” That phrase rings with delight and contentment more than any other accolade… i.e. “you picked up the language so quickly,” “you handled the move with great ease,” “you’ve shared the gospel multiple times,” etc. Those things are important and definitely are not neglected in our daily prayers.

But… it is a work of the Lord to remain faithful. He is the one who began the work within me. He secures my salvation through Christ’s atoning work on the cross. He holds me and will preserve me to the end. Nothing of that is completed by myself. That’s the beauty of it all! He does the work according to His plans and for His glory. We are only to be faithful. But even faithfulness is not a work of our own accord. It is through submission, obedience, and surrender to God… believing in the Word of God, trusting in the work of Christ on the cross and yielding to the Holy Spirit in our lives. Simply put, it’s humbling to pause and reflect on the faithfulness of God to me. Despite the sin and yuck in my life, He is faithful and He helps me

be faithful to Him.

Please join us as we continue this prayer for faithfulness:

  • Faithfulness in our study of the Word, pursuit of God, yielding to the Holy Spirit
  • Faithfulness in our marriage
  • Faithfulness to our children and family
  • Faithfulness in ministry
  • Faithfulness to do what God has called us to do (even the mundane things)
  • Faithfulness in purity, integrity, humility, etc.

 

3 thoughts on “A prayer for faithfulness

  1. Janelle Bailey today helped me make corrections so that I could receive your personal testimonies through your blog!!! Yah! Reading through Rms chapter 1&2 but stopped at 1:5 thinking of you (plural)& your God journey. JC through whom we have rec’d grace & apostleship to bring about the obedience of FAITH FOR THE SAKE OF HIS NAME AMONG ALL NATIONS INCLUDING you who are called to belong to JC. Rms 1:17….the righteous shall walk by faith. We pray that the Lord finds you faithful!! With love ❤️

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Such a good reminder – I’ve been a funk lately and God reminded me of the same thing at about the same time as He reminded you – to be faithful in what He’s put in front of me right now, not to think about what anyone else is doing or about what I did in the past or could do in the future. Praying for you guys! Love you and miss you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

